Speech and Language


Speech and Language Pathology (SLP)

Dear Parents and Teachers,

The purpose of this website is to provide information about different types of speech and language disorders. In addition, for each type of disorder described in this website, you will find links to helpful activities and resources for at-home practice. Please click on these links for more information.

Sincerely,

District 39 Speech-Language Pathologists



What does a school-based speech-language pathologist do?

A speech-language pathologist’s (SLP) role in the school setting is to work with students, parents and staff to assess, diagnose, and treat disorders related to speech, language, voice, and/or fluency in order to support learning within an educational environment. In order for a communication disorder to be considered a disability within the school-based setting, it must exert an adverse effect on educational performance.

For more information about speech-language pathology services, please download our brochure. (316.95 kB)



Contact your School's SLP

Early Childhood
Preschool – Classroom
Brittany Nelson
nelsonb@wilmette39.org

Preschool – Classroom
Leah Samuels
847-512-6479
samuelsl@wilmette39.org
Preschool – Itinerant/Classroom
Katie Brourman
brourmank@wilmette39.org


For more information on speech services for children ages 3-5, please contact Amanda Barton, Early Childhood Coordinator at bartona@wilmette39.org or 847-512-6463.


Elementary Schools
Central
Hillary Rosenthal
847-512-6146
rosenthh@wilmette39.org

Central
Gayle Wasserman
847-512-6277
wassermg@wilmette39.org
Harper
Nancy Grand
847-512-6236
grandn@wilmette39.org


McKenzie
Melissa Johnson
847-512-6340
johnsonm@wilmette39.org

McKenzie
Ally Rappaport
847-512-6738
rappapoa@wilmette39.org
Romona
Therese Kinsley
847-512-6485
kinsleyt@wilmette39.org

Romona
Katherine Marr
marrk@wilmette39.org

Highcrest Middle School
HMS
Cristina Chung
847-512-6523
chungc@wilmette39.org

HMS
Sarah Seiler
847-512-6546
seilers@wilmette39.org

Wilmette Junior High School

WJHS
Ally Rappaport
847-512-6738
rappapoa@wilmette39.org

WJHS
Kim Picton
847-512-6711
pictonk@wilmette39.org

 

Additional Resources:

The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) provides additional information on speech and language disorders on their website (www.asha.org).

Here is an article for articulation and phonology.

And here is an article for oral motor and childhood apraxia.

ASHA also has information on typical speech and language development.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.